The Grand Canyon and More Wild Sheep!

The Grand CanyonPhotographing the Grand CanyonIn the morning we drove along some of the canyon rim, stopping at random locations. In the edge of the woods along the road, we found a bull elk. After seeing some of the canyon we headed into town to the little airport, where my father had booked us a helicopter ride over the canyon. Unfortunately, the winds were too strong, so they delayed our flight an hour. We wasted time in town, returned, and were told there was another delay. Eventually we gave up waiting, we couldn’t spend an entire day of our road trip waiting for a possible helicopter ride. Sadly, we got the refund and got back on the road to Las Vegas.

An Elk with an ItchAlong the way, we spotted another bighorn sheep on a hillside from the highway, this time a desert bighorn female, with a baby!  It was hot and sunny out, so my parents lingered with the car while I set off stalking them…  The mother attempted to lead her baby away, to safety, however the baby stopped, hid behind a little bush and watched me in return.  Eventually, mom realized she left her baby behind and came right back for it!  The pair finally left together, but not until after the baby made a full study of me, and they both gave me one last look (if only that picture had come out clearer, it blurred a little…).  It was absolutely adorable, and one of those moments I live for.

The Grand Canyon

The Mother Leads the Baby to Safety

The Mother Leads the Baby to Safety

The Baby Stays Behind to Study Me

The Baby Stays Behind to Study Me…

The Mother Returns for her Little One

The Mother Returns for her Little One

The Final Glance Goodbye

The Final Glance Goodbye

Modern cities are not really my thing. I don’t enjoy them. Too much hustle and bustle, too many crazy, loud people, they tend to be dirty… Las Vegas wasn’t one of my choices for this trip, but my parents did want to see it. To make my trip to Las Vegas even better, something I ate on the way there apparently did not agree with me one bit. I spent the entire night in the bathroom, quite sick. The following day when we left, I slept the entire drive in the backseat, weak and exhausted.

The Bellagio Fountain Show

The Bellagio Fountain Show

The View from the Hotel Room

The View from the Hotel Room

Leave a Reply

