Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon!

Jökulsárlón Glacier LagoonJökulsárlón Glacier LagoonJökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon…  Another one of those iconic places in Iceland…  And yet, one of the best to stop and see!  This lagoon was beautiful, incredible, and the contained the first icebergs I had ever seen!  Needless to say, I took just a few pictures of them!  The other best part about this place?  The attraction is the lagoon.  A body of water.  In other words, tourists aren’t in the middle of it, in front of it, anything.  People free pictures, despite their being lots of people there!

Jökulsárlón Glacier LagoonJökulsárlón Glacier LagoonAs I mentioned in my prior post, we were going to try and do a boat ride out into the lagoon through the icebergs, maybe see some seals…  Here I messed up and sadly learned the hard way.  The tours, according to online, were done throughout the day, buy a ticket online, and just show up whenever for the tour.  Looking at our itinerary for the day prior to the trip, I wasn’t sure if we would make it in time before they closed for the day, so I didn’t buy those tickets ahead of time…  Well, big whoops.  We arrived and the lagoon was quite busy, and by the time I reached the counter, they had already sold out for the remaining boat tour.  It was so disappointing to watch those people load up on the boat to go…  So, moral of the story, buy those tickets in advance!!!

Icebergs on the AtlanticIcebergs on the AtlanticAt that point I was ready to leave, I had my pictures.  However, I had been advised by a friend who’d been to Iceland before to see the beach that the lagoon opened up on.  An easy location to see the black sand beaches of Iceland.  I thought I would have to walk there, but conveniently, found that directly across the road from the parking for the lagoon, was another little drive leading to a parking area near the beach.  Of course the black sands were beautiful, but this spot was even better!  There were icebergs in the ocean being washed around on the beach, and smaller pieces sitting up on the black sands.  Loved it!  Definitely take the time to walk down to the beach here!  Its one of those sights you just won’t see in many places…

Icebergs on the Atlantic

Leave a Reply

