Cathédrale Notre Dame de Paris

The View from on top of the Cathédrale Notre Dame de ParisCathédrale Notre Dame de ParisMy last morning in Paris I woke up early to do the climb up to the towers of the Cathédrale Notre Dame de Paris.  I desperately wanted to see the gargoyles, and I figured this would be as good a place as any other for the skyline view of Paris, right?  So, there I was, about 9:40, waiting in a not too long line for the towers to open at 10:00.  After a bit more waiting, I quickly found myself ushered up the stairs into a waiting room where you purchase your ticket.  I found it highly amusing that they had a gift shop in there, for you are there for no more than 5 minutes while everyone who doesn’t have the pass, purchases their tickets, and then you’re ushered out and back up more stairs to the top.  There’s no chance to visit this gift shop on your way done, so I’m not sure when you’re supposed to have bought something from there…

Behind the Cathédrale Notre Dame de ParisCathédrale Notre Dame de ParisThere’s a lot of steps up, and its the typical European stone spiral staircase.  I tend to get dizzy on these if I go too fast, particularly going down…  Once you reach the top, you’re rewarded with great views out over the city of Paris, which you’ll get to view in every direction.  And of course the gargoyles all along the two bell towers!  I loved those guys!  They then usher you up the second bell tower to the very top, where you slowly make your way around the top of the square tower, taking in the view, before you go back down, except this time, you go all the way down to the ground in one go.  Dizzy time!

Cathédrale Notre Dame de Paris

Cathédrale Notre Dame de ParisI had already visited the interior of the cathedral the prior day while heading home in the evening, and even managed to see some of the service beginning.  The cathedral is pretty on the inside, and has a statue for Joan of Arc as well.

Cathédrale Notre Dame de ParisCathédrale Notre Dame de ParisAfter finishing with my tower tour, I hurried back to my apartment, collected my belongings, and set out to catch my train back home to England…  It had been a fantastic little 3-day weekend in Paris that could not possibly have gone better!  If the train ride over wasn’t so expensive, I’d be very inclined to go again, although, there are always sooo many other places to see and explore…

SPEAKING OF THAT… I am planning a week long trip over New Year’s Eve to see Prague, Vienna, Bratislava, and Budapest with a friend who’s flying out from the states to join me.  Have any of you been to these places?  Any suggestions for things to see or do, or things we should skip that are overrated?  Any help is very appreciated!  She’s never seen Europe, so trying to make sure she sees the best it has to offer!

Here’s a video of the service and I found myself in:

And here’s a video of the glorious bells of the Cathédrale Notre Dame de Paris:

One comment

  1. That cathedrale is stunning!

Leave a Reply

