Exploring the Brecon Beacons

Carreg Cennen CastleAlong the way to the waterfallDo you guys ever just not feel like writing?  Sometimes I just hit a period of time where I just don’t want to.  Maybe this is the blogger’s form of writer’s block.  It is not that I don’t have anything to write about, I have plenty to share with you all, but I just can’t bring myself to sit and write it out…   Plus, this past week I started two new college classes, one of which wants an essay every week…  That certainly doesn’t help the motivation to write here!  So, forgive the brevity of this post, there really isn’t much to share, aside from some pictures of some beautiful locations in Wales…

Sgwd HenrhydThe tunnel underneath Carreg Cennen CastleAfter our hike up Pen y Fan, a change of fresh, dry clothes, and some warm food in our bellies, we set out to explore Brecon Beacons National Park.  We found ourselves navigating to find a waterfall that looked close to the road on our little brochure map of the Brecon Beacons, Sgwd Henrhyd.  This did involve quite a trek down a very steep hill and along a path to eventually reach the falls.  Not a huge deal normally, but this was only an hour or two after finishing climbing up and down my first mountain….  I was hurting and my legs were tired!  At least the waterfall turned out to be worth the effort!!

Carreg Cennen CastleFrom there we continued exploring and eventually found ourselves at Carreg Cennen Castle.  It was a fair distance away.  We only headed there since I had discovered it online prior and knew it looked amazing.  One thing to note, though… There is a cave underneath the castle, that goes quite far back.  You can rent flashlights for this apparently, although when we showed up there was a wedding and no one wanted to assist us with anything…  Just bring your own…  I can tell you, it goes quite far back, I followed it for a ways, using my camera’s flash to light up the way every step… Eventually I decided it wasn’t worth it when I could barely see light from the beginning of the tunnel…

 

Leave a Reply

