A Cathedral and Basilica in Lyon

Cathédrale Saint-Jean-BaptisteThere’s not a whole to say for Lyon.  I stayed the night with a couple near the Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste.  When I woke in the morning, after a fantastic breakfast and hot shower, I set out to explore.  I walked past the cathedral, took a few pictures, before continuing on to find the little funicular ride up the hillside to the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière.  I desperately wanted to see the interior of this basilica, and I’m sure as you look at the pictures, you’ll be able to tell why.  I think its the most beautiful interior I’ve seen yet.  Although, the interior of the Mátyás Templom in Budapest was right up there as well with a completely different style.  More to come on that one later, though, once I reach my trip to Budapest…
Looking up from in front of the Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste towards the basilicaI only had a few hours to explore Lyon before having to catch a train to Geneva, Switzerland.  It turned out it was far cheaper for me to drive to Lyon and take a train to Geneva to catch a flight from there to Croatia, rather than from the Marseilles are to Croatia…  Ridiculous, isn’t it?  At least I got to see more of France than I had originally thought!  Enjoy the pictures of the beautiful sights in Lyon!!

Inside the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière

Inside the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière

Inside the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière

The ceiling of the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière

Looking out over Lyon from the basilica

One comment

Leave a Reply

